Tags

, , , , ,

I know it’s not the same as having a novel accepted by a big publisher, but, seeing your hard work in the flesh, as a real book, is a real boost to your confidence.

I took the Nanowrimo challenge last November and completed 50,000 words in the 30 days. It was the second time I’d completed it, and just getting that many words done as a recognisable story is such an achievement on its own. All those who complete the challenge are classed as ‘winners’ and CreateSpace offer each one a free proof copy of the completed manuscript.

I’ve just received mine and it looks pretty good, even if I say so myself. I have edited the copy once, but I need to make some changes before it’s ready for publication. I will make changes and resubmit the content before I give the go ahead to make available through Amazon.

Dirty Bomb by K Patrick Moody

No, it’s not the same as a publisher offering a contract, but I have something to show for my month with Nano –  and I feel like a real writer, ‘cos I’ve got a book to show it!

… I might even to it again in November, just to get another freebie! Why don’t you?

