Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Here is this week’s entry for the Inspiration Monday prompt on the Bekindrewrite blog.

This is more of a stream of consciousness piece. I’ve had a hectic week with little time for writing, but these are the words that came to me. So they are the words you are going to get.

While you are here, have a look around the other posts and pages. You might find something you like better. You will leave a comment, won’t you?

The pursuit of happiness

Pleasure, that is happiness surely? It is physical pleasure that makes me happy. The five senses; to see beautiful things, to feel cool cotton sheets, to smell new mown grass, to hear birdsong at dawn, to taste a fine wine.

Without these pleasures surely there is no happiness in life?

But when I have enjoyed such a pleasure I am not satisfied, I want it again, or I want it bigger and better. I want more. I can’t have more. There is only so much I can have. Perhaps I can’t afford to buy it, perhaps it is no longer there to see or touch. Perhaps my ears are failing and and I hear only tinnitus. Perhaps if I take it there will be none left for someone else. What if someone steals my pleasure-piece?

This is displeasure. I am unhappy. My wanting is causing me pain. I want not to have this pain, which means I am wanting more, only getting more pain. I am lost twixt the two; for pleasure I must suffer pain.

I should be happy with what I have, for otherwise life is nowt but suffering. There is only change. What I had yesterday is gone today, what I have today will be gone tomorrow. But what I don’t have I cannot lose.

Contentment, that is happiness.
* * *
(c) 2012, K Patrick Moody
The above piece is not meant to be an accurate depiction of Buddhist teaching, merely a stream of thoughts inspired by the InMon prompt. For those wishing to find out more about Buddhism, a good starting point is http://thebuddhistcentre.com/buddhism or http://www.thebuddhistsociety.org/
(There are many other sources available on the internet, too.)
