Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Having been voted the winner of the September One Word Challenge, prose section, my prize was to judge the prose entries in the October OWC. But that meant I couldn’t submit an entry, after all, it wouldn’t be appropriate to judge my own work, would it?

What I did though, was to enter the poetry section. The one word for the challenge was ‘Void‘. Normally I profess that ‘if it don’t rhyme, it ain’t poetry’, but this time I went for something a little more cultured … haiku.

Haiku is a precise form of Japanese verse. Wikipedia defines it thus: haiku in English is a very short poem in the English language, following to a greater or lesser extent the form and style of the Japanese haiku. A typical haiku is a three-line quirky observation about a fleeting moment involving nature.

Traditionally there are 17 syllables, five in the first line, seven in the second, and five in the last. Here is my submission … (I didn’t win)

* * *

Somewhere in the void
Spark forms mountains, sea and sky.
My theory, Bang!

* * *

(c) 2014, K Patrick Moody

